Disturbed announce new album Divisive

Disturbed will release their new album Divisive this November – listen to single Unstoppable now

Disturbed announce new album Divisive
Luke Morton

American arena-metallers Disturbed have announced details of their forthcoming eighth album, Divisive.

Since 2018's Evolution LP, the world has become even more disparate, which hasn't gone unnoticed by mainman David Draiman. Speaking about the meaning behind the album, he says, “Partisan tribal warfare has become a part of our regular existence nowadays. It’s one big battle of the cliques. The whole idea of the record is to be a wakeup call for everyone.

"Our society has become addicted to outrage. Music is the best cure for what ails us, though. If only everyone reached out and used it. There’s no better environment to forget about all of this shit than live music. We can be together and realise we have more in common than not. Recognise what’s happening and let’s make a change for the better.”

Guitarist Dan Donegan agrees. “Whatever it takes, we’ve got to pull it together. We’ve always tried to take negative topics and spin them in a positive light," he says. "From touring around the world, we’ve seen the power of music as the universal language to bring everyone together from all walks of life. We can still play songs to unite people, and it’s a pretty powerful feeling.”

The announcement of Divisive is marked by new single Unstoppable, which Dan describes as "a big rock anthem."

“Unstoppable is definitely one of the heavier tracks on the record," adds David. "The groove builds into a bombastic animal. It’s truly the fight song.”

Divisive tracklist

  1. Hey You
  2. Bad Man
  3. Divisive
  4. Unstoppable
  5. Love To Hate
  6. Feeding The Fire
  7. Don’t Tell Me (feat. Ann Wilson)
  8. Take Back Your Life
  9. Part Of Me
  10. Won’t Back Down

Divisive will be released on November 18 via Reprise.

Check out more:

The best of Kerrang! delivered straight to your inbox three times a week. What are you waiting for?