Foo Fighters Announce New Album Medicine At Midnight, Listen To New Song Shame Shame

Listen to Foo Fighters' new song Shame Shame, taken from their upcoming album Medicine At Midnight

Foo Fighters Announce New Album Medicine At Midnight, Listen To New Song Shame Shame
Luke Morton
Danny Clinch

After a week of teasing videos and audio snippets, Foo Fighters have announced their long-awaited tenth studio album and dropped a brand new track.

On last night's episode of Saturday Night Live, hosted by Dave Chappelle, the Foos debuted new track Shame Shame, the first single from their upcoming LP Medicine At Midnight – due for release on February 5, 2021. It's the first new music we've heard from Dave Grohl and co. since 2017's Concrete And Gold record.

And it's not the pounding rock'n'roll rager you might have been expecting, sounding almost restrained in its slower, brooding tempo with slightly funked-up rhythms. The visualiser for the track also errs on the dark side, showing a black and white image of a couple standing in the wilderness as a coffin burns behind them. Cheery stuff.

Clocking in at 4:20 though, this might be the longest track on Medicine At Midnight, as the nine-track album is just 37-minutes long.

READ THIS: The 20 Greatest Foo Fighters Songs – Ranked

Speaking to Kerrang! at the start of 2020 about their new album, Foos mainman Dave said: “I’m fucking excited for people to hear it and I can’t wait to jump on that fucking stage to play it.

“There are choruses on this record that 50-fucking-thousand people are gonna sing, and it’s gonna bring everyone’s fucking hearts together in that moment. And that’s what it’s all about.”

Medicine At Midnight tracklist:

  1. Making A Fire
  2. Shame Shame
  3. Cloudspotter
  4. Waiting On A War
  5. Medicine At Midnight
  6. No Son Of Mine
  7. Holding Poison
  8. Chasing Birds
  9. Love Dies Young

Medicine At Midnight will be released February 5, 2021, via Roswell Records/Columbia Records.

Check out more:

Now read these

The best of Kerrang! delivered straight to your inbox three times a week. What are you waiting for?