Mastodon unleash Forged By Neron from the Dark Nights: Death Metal soundtrack

As DC announce the star-studded tracklist for Dark Nights: Death Metal, Mastodon unveil the album's opening song, Forged By Neron.

Mastodon unleash Forged By Neron from the Dark Nights: Death Metal soundtrack
Emily Carter

Mastodon have shared a brand-new song for the soundtrack to DC's Dark Nights: Death Metal.

Forged By Neron is the opening song on the LP, which also features exclusive tracks by the likes of Chelsea Wolfe, HEALTH, Grey Daze, Rise Against, Show Me The Body, IDLES and more (see the full list below). "We are super excited and honoured to be part of the Dark Nights: Death Metal Soundtrack!" enthuses Mastodon's Brann Dailor. "We’ve all been fans of DC Comics and the Batman universe since we were kids, so it really means a lot for us to be able to add something to that world."

Read this: The 13 essential progressive metal albums you need to know

"This soundtrack and motion-comic series was made by fans of comics, for fans of comics and music,” explains Dark Nights: Death Metal executive producer Tyler Bates. "Dark Nights: Death Metal is next-level storytelling by two incredibly talented artists in Scott Snyder and Greg Capullo. The visual aspect of this comic is entirely compelling, and resonates throughout each song on the soundtrack."

The Dark Nights: Death Metal soundtrack will be released digitally on June 18, and physically on July 16, via Loma Vista Recordings. Listen to Forged By Neron:

Check out the full Dark Nights: Death Metal Soundtrack:

1. Mastodon – Forged By Neron
2. Chelsea Wolfe – Diana
3. HEALTH, Tyler Bates – ANTI-LIFE (feat. Chino Moreno)
4. Maria Brink, Tyler Bates – Meet Me In Fire (feat. Andy Biersack)
5. Grey Daze – Anything, Anything
6. Rise Against – Broken Dreams, Inc.
7. Manchester Orchestra – Never Ending
8. Denzel Curry, PlayThatBoiZay – Bad Luck
9. Carach Angren – Skull With a Forked Tongue
10. Starcrawler – Good Time Girl
11. GUNSHIP, Tyler Bates – Berserker (feat. Dave Lombardo)
12. Greg Puciato, Tyler Bates, Gil Sharone – Now You've Really Done It
13. Show Me The Body – Stone Cold Earth
14. IDLES – Sodium
15. Soccer Mommy – Kissing in the Rain

Check out more:

The best of Kerrang! delivered straight to your inbox three times a week. What are you waiting for?