Premiere: Sparrow Sleeps give My Chem hits the lo-fi treatment

Listen to The Backpack Parade, a wonderfully chilled album of lo-fi My Chemical Romance covers by Sparrow Sleeps.

Premiere: Sparrow Sleeps give My Chem hits the lo-fi treatment
Emily Carter

Earlier this year, Kerrang! shared an album of brilliant and beautifully relaxing twenty one pilots lullabies by Sparrow Sleeps (which you guys absolutely loved), and now we're pleased to premiere a totally different side to the musical duo.

After sharing over 75 lullaby albums throughout the years, the pair – composer Casey Cole and designer Peter Lockhart – have changed things up and began a journey of lo-fi material, here reworking a bunch of My Chemical Romance bangers and giving them an excellently chilled-out feel.

"Making the transition from lullabies to lo-fi wasn’t that big of a leap," says Casey. "We had to educate ourselves on the genre, and learn how to play finger drums, but it’s still a very calm and meditative result."

Discussing the tracklist and how Sparrow Sleeps tackled huge MCR singles like I'm Not Okay and Welcome To The Black Parade, plus the likes of Bulletproof Heart and Dead, Casey explains: "We know that people will more than likely immediately click on Welcome To The Black Parade or Helena, but some of the finest moments on this album are in the deeper cuts.

"I really hope everyone listens to it all, and not just bits and pieces."

The full lo-fi tracklist is as follows:

1. Helena
2. I’m Not Okay (I Promise)
3. Teenagers
4. I Don’t Love You
5. Bulletproof Heart
6. Famous Last Words
7. Na Na Na (Na Na Na Na Na Na Na Na Na)
8. The Ghost Of You
9. Dead
10. Welcome to the Black Parade

Check it out here, and listen on Spotify below:

Now read these

The best of Kerrang! delivered straight to your inbox three times a week. What are you waiting for?