The Wonder Years drop new track Low Tide

“This is my pandemic depression song. I feel like everyone gets one,” says Dan Campbell about The Wonder Years’ new track.

The Wonder Years drop new track Low Tide
Zoya Raza-Sheikh

American pop-punk staples The Wonder Years have released a self-reflective anthem taking stock of fears and anxieties on the passed pandemic months.

The band’s new hit, Low Tide, will appear on their massively-anticipated seventh studio record The Hum Goes On Forever.

Vocalist Dan Campbell has described the band's new song as his "pandemic depression song". Written in snapshots over the course of several months, Low Tide captures a fraction of the many questions and fears that ran through theirs – and likely several other artists and creatives – minds over the last few years.

"It’s searching for some semblance of normalcy through small, newly formed rituals. It’s being unsure if I’ll ever get to do the thing I love again, if live music will ever come back. It’s deciding to just give up and then deciding not to give up and then deciding to give up again in alternating intervals. It’s watching old movies and unconsciously thinking, 'Oh my god, where are your masks?' when people are in public places because a deep anxiety now exists within me that may never fully leave. You know, all the normal stuff."

Check out The Wonder Years' official music video below.

The Hum Goes On Forever is due out on September 23 via Saddest Factory Records.

Check out the tracklist below:

1. Doors I Painted Shut
2. Wyatt's Song (Your Name)
3. Oldest Daughter
4. Cardinals II
5. The Paris Of Nowhere
6. Summer Clothes
7. Lost In The Lights
8. Songs About Death
9. Low Tide
10. Laura & The Beehive
11. Old Friends Like Lost Teeth
12. You're The Reason I Don't Want The World To End

Now read these

The best of Kerrang! delivered straight to your inbox three times a week. What are you waiting for?