Screen Shot 2017 12 08 At 10 07 45

Machine Head Release Dramatic Video For New Single Catharsis

Check out the video for the title track of their new album!

Machine Head have posted a video for the title-track of their upcoming new album, Catharsis. The ninth studio record from the metal heavyweights will be released on January 26 through Nuclear Blast.

Talking about the video concept, frontman Robb Flynn said: Catharsis was a tricky concept to translate to a visual. How do you express somebody’s catharsis? Frasier, the director brought up the Butoh Dance concept and it tied in so well into the idea of what catharsis could be. And man, when the Butoh dancers began performing for the video… we were blown away, their expressions were so pained, almost horrifying and yet very sad. It was extremely moving.”

Watch the dramatic video below:

Butoh dancing is a Japanese art form that was born the aftermath of the WWII nuclear bombings of Nagasaki and Hiroshima. The dance itself is a literal expression of death and pain, so mixes in with the dark nature of the track. 

Machine Head will be back in the UK in spring of next year as part of their Catharsis World Tour. Catch them at the following:

May 2018

13 O2 Guildhall Southampton
14 Cardiff University
15 O2 Academy Bristol
17 O2 Academy Birmingham
18 London Camden Roundhouse
19 London Camden Roundhouse
21 Nottingham Rock City
22 O2 Academy Newcastle
23 O2 Academy Glasgow
25 Manchester Academy

Posted on December 8th 2017, 10:10a.m.
Read More
Holding Absence in The K! Pit
Melodic post-hardcore crew Holding Absence hit The K! Pit in association with Nordic Spirit at Blondies, our favourite East London dive bar.
Svalbard in The K! Pit
Brit metallers Svalbard hit The K! Pit in association with Nordic Spirit at Blondies, our favourite East London dive bar.
Machine Head: Every album ranked from worst to best

This is Machine Head’s discography (so far) ranked from worst to best…

From Washington to Wembley: The story of Foo Fighters' Echoes, Silence, Patience & Grace

As Foo Fighters began to settle into their role as one of the world’s biggest bands, their sixth album Echoes, Silence, Patience & Grace propelled them to even greater heights…