Cannibal Corpse announce new album, Violence Unimagined

Stream Inhumane Harvest, the lead single from Cannibal Corpse's upcoming 15th LP Violence Unimagined.

Cannibal Corpse announce new album, Violence Unimagined
Emily Carter
Alex Turner

Buffalo death metal titans Cannibal Corpse have announced details of their upcoming 15th studio album, Violence Unimagined.

The new 11-track effort is due out on April 16 via Metal Blade Records, with lead single Inhumane Harvest available to hear now (stream it below). Teasing what's to come from the full record, bassist and founding member Alex Webster enthuses: "It really follows the path we've been going down for a few years now. I think we approach the writing in a similar way most every time: each of us try to write the heaviest, most memorable songs we can. We want each song to have its own identifiable character. Showing my age, I like to say you can 'drop the needle' on any point of one of our albums and quickly tell which song you're listening to."

While their methods may have remained the same, something is different about Cannibal Corpse this time around: they've got a new member: former live guitarist for the band, Erik Rutan (who now officially joins Alex, drummer Paul Mazurkiewicz, guitarist Rob Barrett and vocalist George 'Corpsegrinder' Fisher).

Read this: Cannibal Corpse: Every album ranked from worst to best

Of their new line-up, Alex explains: "I think the most noticeable difference on this record will be the addition of Erik to the band. He wrote three full songs for the record, music and lyrics, and his song writing and guitar playing have added something new, and I think his musical style integrated into ours very well.

"He's a great friend of ours, so on a personal level, he's been a perfect fit, as we knew he would be. Beyond that, he's one of the hardest working people I know, in music or otherwise, and he maintains a high energy, positive demeanour in challenging situations where other people might go in a negative direction. This energy and great attitude rubs off on the rest of us as well. That's really a perfect situation to have when you add someone to a band, or any kind of team: someone who's great at what they do, and also inspires the people around them."

Sounds killer. Stream Inhumane Harvest below:

The full Violence Unimagined tracklist is as follows:

1. Murderous Rampage
2. Necrogenic Resurrection
3. Inhumane Harvest
4. Condemnation Contagion
5. Surround, Kill, Devour
6. Ritual Annihilation
7. Follow the Blood
8. Bound and Burned
9. Slowly Sawn
10. Overtorture
11. Cerements of the Flayed

Read this: 10 bands who wouldn’t be here without Slayer

Check out more:

Now read these

The best of Kerrang! delivered straight to your inbox three times a week. What are you waiting for?