Green Day Have Dropped A Brand-New Song, Oh Yeah!

Listen to Green Day's new track Oh Yeah!, taken from next month's Father Of All… album.

Green Day Have Dropped A Brand-New Song, Oh Yeah!

We're just weeks away from the release of Green Day's new album Father Of All…, and to celebrate, the band have just unveiled the third song on the record, Oh Yeah!, as well as an accompanying video.

The track follows previous singles Father Of All… and Fire, Ready, Aim, but takes something of a different stylistic approach to its predecessors – or, indeed, any other song in Green Day's back-catalogue, as it includes a sample for the first time ever: Joan Jett’s Do You Wanna Touch Me (Oh Yeah).

Posting about the song on Twitter, the band also revealed, "And yes, that's a Joan Jett sample you're hearing. Since one of the writers on that song is a total asshole, we decided to donate our royalties from Oh Yeah! to IJM [International Justice Mission] and RAINN [which helps survivors through the National Sexual Assault Hotline]."

In an interview with Kerrang! last year, frontman Billie Joe Armstrong explained that Oh Yeah! was “about being freaked out around the polarisation that we live in right now,” he said. “Whether it’s kids getting shot in schools, or the closest thing that America has ever seen to fascism. Light stuff…”

It seemingly ties in with the themes of Father Of All… as a whole, too, with Billie Joe explaining of the album's inspiration: “It’s coming from a place of feeling like you’re out of control, and you’re not in charge of your own body anymore. It paints pictures or vignettes of what life is like for me and for other people that, I feel like, are desperate. And I mean that in an empathetic way, where people in America have become very desperate with their situations. There’s factories being shut down, gentrification…”

Check out Oh Yeah! below:

And see some of the band's behind-the-scenes snaps from the video shoot:

The tracklist for Father Of All… is as follows:

1. Father Of All…
2. Fire, Ready, Aim
3. Oh Yeah!
4. Meet Me On The Roof
5. I Was A Teenage Teenager
6. Stab You In The Heart
7. Sugar Youth
8. Junkies On A High
9. Take The Money And Crawl
10. Graffitia

Read this next: Green Day's new album is like nothing you've heard before

Catch Green Day live this summer with Fall Out Boy, Weezer and The Interrupters (U.S. only) on the Hella Mega Tour. Tickets are on sale now.


13 Paris, France, La Defense Arena,
14 Groningen, Netherlands, Stadspark
17 Antwerp, Belgium, Sportspaleis
21 Vienna, Austria, Ernst Happel Stadium
24 Glasgow, UK, Glasgow Green
26 London, UK, London Stadium
27 Huddersfield, UK, The John Smith’s Stadium
29 Dublin, Ireland, RDS Arena


17 Seattle, WA, T-Mobile Park
21 San Francisco, CA, Oracle Park
24 San Diego, CA, Petco Park
25 Los Angeles, CA, Dodger Stadium
28 Commerce City, CO, DICK’s Sporting Goods Park
31 Arlington, TX, Globe Life Field


1 Houston, TX Minute Maid Park
5 Miami, FL Hard Rock Stadium
6 Jacksonville, FL TIAA Bank Field
8 Atlanta, GA SunTrust Park
11 Minneapolis, MN Target Field
13 Chicago, IL Wrigley Field
15 Pittsburgh, PA PNC Park
16 Hershey, PA Hersheypark Stadium
19 Detroit, MI Comerica Park
21 Washington, DC Nationals Park
22 New York, NY Citi Field
24 Toronto, ON Rogers Centre
27 Boston, MA Fenway Park
29 Philadelphia, PA Citizens Bank Park

Now read these

The best of Kerrang! delivered straight to your inbox three times a week. What are you waiting for?