Norma Jean drop new “reworked” single Spearmint Revolt

Earlier this year the American metalcore band announced details of their forthcoming album, Deathrattle Sing For Me.

Norma Jean drop new “reworked” single Spearmint Revolt
Zoya Raza-Sheikh

Norma Jean have unveiled a brand-new single Spearmint Revolt, ahead of their highly anticipated ninth studio album.

Going full-throttle, the band put their heads together to pull a “determined” Norma Jean-style track. "There is no editing stage," explains singer Cory Brandan. "Every edit is a new creation, and some songs write themselves. This song was thrown out, retrieved, reworked, and thrown out again a few times. After almost abandoning it completely, it wasn't the song that needed to change – but our view of what kind of song it truly was."

He continues: "There is a lot of [guitarist] Grayson [Stewart] on this album, and I've never seen him more determined to make a statement than with what he writes than with this track. This song ended up coining a new common phrase in the Norma Jean camp: 'It had to be off the album before it could be on it.' Abandoning this song forced us to make it work in a much more desperate way."

Grayson weighs in, adding: "I wanted this song to be an example of how much ground Norma Jean can cover within a single song – while still making it sound cohesive."

Check it out:

Cory gives fans an insight into what they can expect from Deathrattle Sing For Me: “This record was really about banding together. It embodies the camaraderie of our brotherhood in Norma Jean. At the time, we needed something to do, and we wrote these songs for our own souls. The record was necessary to keep me alive in a very literal sense. It's a deeper place."

You can see the album tracklist below:

1. 1994
2. Call For The Blood
3. Spearmint Revolt
4. Memorial Hoard
5. Aria Obscura
6. Any%
7. Parallella
8. W W A V V E
9. A Killing Word
10. Penny Margs
11. el-roi
12. Sleep Explosion
13. Heartache

Deathrattle Sing For Me will be released on August 12 via Solid State.

Read this: Parkway Drive: “This feels like rising from the ashes… it’s a new beginning for us”

Check out more:

The best of Kerrang! delivered straight to your inbox three times a week. What are you waiting for?