Norma Jean announce new album Deathrattle Sing For Me

As well as announcing details of their ninth album Deathrattle Sing For Me, Norma Jean have unleashed “dangerous rock’n’roll” single Call For The Blood…

Norma Jean announce new album Deathrattle Sing For Me
Zoya Raza-Sheikh

Would you believe it, Norma Jean are back! As well as a new single Call For The Blood, the American metalcore band have unveiled details of their ninth album Deathrattle Sing For Me.

Charging into a new era, the outfit have pulled together an album that is a “rallying cry”, as lead vocalist Cory Brandan labels it.

Speaking on the newly-released single, the frontman explains: “Composed by my brother, [co-producer] Matthew [Putman], this song was written around a single idea, altered heavily in post, and then mimicked by us. The studio and post-production elements acted as an instrument.

“The experimentation and the process behind this track was a major point of inspiration for many other things we ended up doing throughout Death Rattle Sing For Me. I feel like Matthew wrote this song with my voice in mind and I wanted to do something very unique over it. Dangerous rock'n'roll! Blast it!"

"CFTB was one of the first songs where I felt like we were establishing a personality for the album," continues Matthew. "Even though it was constructed in the studio from manipulated ideas we captured during a 'riff vomiting' session with Grayson, it still has a very raw, live energy.

“The samples were all chosen in a very deliberate way for how they coloured the story behind the song (rebellious unity). There is nothing random about CFTB; every sound has meaning. This is one of my all-time favourite vocal performance from Cory, where he proves once again why he's one of the best of his generation."

Check out Call For The Blood below:

Deathrattle Sing For Me will be released on August 12 via Solid State.

You can see the tracklist below:

1. 1994
2. Call For The Blood
3. Spearmint Revolt
4. Memorial Hoard
5. Aria Obscura
6. Any%
7. Parallella
8. W W A V V E
9. A Killing Word
10. Penny Margs
11. el-roi
12. Sleep Explosion
13. Heartache

Check out more:

The best of Kerrang! delivered straight to your inbox three times a week. What are you waiting for?