Tenacious D are working on a new album: “We gotta do it this year”

Ahead of this month’s Spicy Meatball arena tour, Kyle Gass has confirmed that Tenacious D have been working on a new album – the follow-up to 2018 fourth LP Post-Apocalypto.

Tenacious D are working on a new album: “We gotta do it this year”
Emily Carter

Tenacious D’s Kyle Gass has confirmed that the band have been working on a new album… and it might even be done in 2024.

In a new interview with Loudwire Nights, the one and only KG reveals that before they hit the road for their massive Spicy Meatball arena tour, which begins this month, the band have been working on LP number five.

The D – completed by Jack Black – released their last album Post-Apocalypto in 2018, and Kyle jokes that they have “a very strict six-year cycle” when it comes to new music.

“We have to finish the new record,” he begins. “We’ve been working on it, we have a very strict six-year cycle.

“…I think we might be a little overdue,” Kyle adds. “We gotta do it this year. We can feel the heat too, but you know, it’s gotta percolate. We got to fit in between Jack’s very busy film schedule. But we’re going to do it.”

Of course, in this loooong time since Post-Apocalypto we’ve still had plenty of new stuff from the comedy rock legends – from their viral Britney Spears rendition earlier this year, to their Wicked Game cover last summer, and their original song Video Games just before that.

Jack Black has also been absolutely everywhere, most recently joining the Minecraft cast, doing Kung Fu Panda 4, and in 2023 starring as Bowser in The Super Mario Bros. Movie.

Watch this space, and listen to the new interview with Kyle below:

Catch Tenacious D live at the following upcoming dates:


29 Stockholm Hovet +
30 Oslo Spektrum +


1 Copenhagen Royal Arena +
3 Luxembourg Rockhal +
5 Dublin 3Arena +
7 Birmingham Resorts World Arena *
8 Manchester AO Arena *
9 Glasgow OVO Hydro *
11 Leeds First Direct Arena *
12 Nottingham Motorpoint Arena *
13 Brighton Centre *
15 Paris Accor Arena +

+ = support from Crusade
* = support from Dave Hill

Get your tickets here.

Read this: “Tribute was our Mona Lisa”: An oral history of Tenacious D’s self-titled debut album

Check out more:

Now read these

The best of Kerrang! delivered straight to your inbox three times a week. What are you waiting for?